Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



The Last Of Us Part II Has Been Crowned 2020’s Game Of The Year At The Game Awards

A worthy winner

To most people it probably doesn’t come as a surprise, but Naughty Dog and PlayStation’s The Last of Us Part II has taken out the gong for Game of the Year at Geoff Keighley’s Game Awards™, beating off stiff competition from Sucker Punch’s Ghost of Tsushima, Supergiant Games Hades, Square Enix’s Final Fantasy VII Remake, Nintendo’s Animal Crossing: New Horizons, and Bethesda and id Software’s DOOM Eternal.

The Last of Us Part II was certainly one of the year’s most divisive games, with a number of people not jiving with the game’s direction or story. However, this was only a small section of players, with the majority of players and critics praising almost every element of the game. Yours truly awarded it a score of 9.5, writing that “Featuring generation-defining game design, The Last of Us Part II is an unrivalled masterpiece that stumbles ever so slightly under its own ambitions.

ARVE Error: Mode: lazyload not available (ARVE Pro not active?), switching to normal mode

Game of the Year wasn’t the only award that Naughty Dog and The Last of Us Part II won, with the game walking away with six other awards: Best Game Direction, Innovation in Accessibility, Best Audio Design, Best Narrative, Best Performance (Laura Bailey as Abby) and Best Action/Adventure Game.

What do you make of The Last of Us Part II winning GOTY at The Game Awards? Did the judges get it right? Let us know in the comments or on social media.

Written By

Co-Founder & Managing Editor of WellPlayed. Sometimes a musician, lover of bad video games, Nickelback and Huawei. Living proof that Australian's drink Foster's. Carlton, Burnley FC & SJ Sharks fan Get around him on Twitter @tightinthejorts


You May Also Like


What does id Software have cooking in the oven?


Barcode Head Badass


Thrice the heat in the kitchen